What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Illustrator Need some Illustrator help.

Dimitri Storm

I have been a Photoshop hobbyist and enthusiast for years. Now I own a printing business to put my hobby to work. This has forced me into the world of Illustrator for our printing and cutting machines. Although I am very comfortable with PS, Illustrator is giving me fits. One of the key things is making "Cut lines" in Illustrator to send to the cutting program. Now here is my dillema, all of my images I have made are in Photoshop. To make these cut lines I have to stroke the image. When I bring a picture into Illustrator I can not get it to stroke that picture. It just strookes the box around it, or unless I draw a circle or shape around it and stroke that shape. Please refer to the picture I have attached. The first one is a decal that we initially made. The second is the image that I want to stroke for cut lines do I can just have that as a decal without the white circle. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_20140311_195601_335.jpg
    IMG_20140311_195601_335.jpg
    198.6 KB · Views: 0
  • BlueDiskFinal.jpg
    BlueDiskFinal.jpg
    393.8 KB · Views: 0

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
First..let me say this. I am a laser engraver and I have to have all cut lines as vectors. The machine I have has to have specific line weights to recognize as vector lines to be cut. I use both Corel Draw and AI CC , as well as Photoshop in my work.