+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ibclare

Thread: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

  1. #1
    Power User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    291
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    Hi guys,

    Normally i used to cut out only with the "quick selection tool" but now i began with the pen tool too because you can get the job done much better sometimes. The only problem is how i can "refine edge" after i selected the piece i want to cut out and i export it as a "new layer via copy"??? After cutting out with the "quick selection tool" you can immediately choose "refine edge" but after the pen tool i can't find it?

    Does somebody knows this?

  2. #2
    Queen Bee
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    9,856
    Thanks
    299
    Thanked 590 Times in 576 Posts

    Re: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    Control click on the path you just made and you will get a selection, and there you go. Or apply a layer mask and then use the refine mask option.
    MikeMc likes this.
    Photoshop Gurus Site Rules

    3 Ps of PS: perseverance, practice, & play!

  3. #3
    Beast RARRR!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    659
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 68 Times in 65 Posts

    Re: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    Hit Ctrl+Enter to make a selection, Same as Clareby says but a tad quicker

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,505
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 379 Times in 360 Posts

    Re: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    Here's another way:

    Once you export it as a "new layer via copy", highlight the new layer, command + click the new layers thumbnail to make a selection (marching ants), go to SELECT > REFINE EDGE.

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,505
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 379 Times in 360 Posts

    Re: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris
    Hit Ctrl+Enter to make a selection
    Control or Command?

    Command works on a mac.

  6. #6
    McGuru
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    1,267
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 65 Times in 64 Posts

    Re: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    I do the refine mask, seems to work better for me.



    Hang up and Drive!!


  7. #7
    Power User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    291
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Pen tool with Refine Edge tool..

    Thank you all guys!! It worked very wel!!

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.9
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Photoshop Gurus Forum. All rights reserved.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.