+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Tips on web design :

Thanks

Tips on web design :

I am new in the web design field. please can anyone give me some important tips on web design.So that my website will look good.........
    Last edited by annarobert; 01-24-2012 at 12:56 AM.

Thanks

Re: Tips on web design :

Well, I would most likely start learning HTML/XHTML. A good place to start would be W3 SCHOOLS probably one of the best resource for beginners as well as experts.

They teach you step by step from the beginning. Start with HTML, then XHTML, then move on to CSS.

Or you could just work with Wordpress ;)

Power User
    Thanks

To expand on ticalico's post, one of the best tips I can offer you is to know your audience. When a website is designed, it is always determined what kind of people will be viewing the website. This also determines how the website is going to look in terms of aesthetics. Colors, color theory and psychology play a huge part in this part of the process. An example I can give you is of something I made over the weekend. I have a portfolio website which showcases the best of my work. On one of the child pages is a section for website templates. One of those templates is meant for a coffee shop somewhere in the world. The colors I used are brown with variations in tints and shades. Coffee is brown, so when a user visits a site like this, I want them to start thinking about coffee. Do you see where I'm going with this? I use colors that are related to the subject matter of the website I'm working on whether it's a real world project or something to be based on. Click on the little image thumbnails to be taken to the actual html based website template.

http://www.cdemarco.com/webdesign.html

Thanks