What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3D Importing .OBJ file from Maya > Photoshop > After Effects

frussell89

I'm a noob so bare with me please :p

I spent a few hours yesterday shading a 3D character I made in Maya only to import it as an .OBJ file into photoshop to find that none of the shading I did was exported out of Maya. Eventually, I need to get the 3D Model into After Effects to create an animation.

How do I export my 3D Model AND all the shading work I did from Maya?

Right now the whole thing is sitting in Photoshop completely gray. Am I missing something?

Hoogle

Guru
you will need to bake the textures onto the model or create a uv map so you can texture it in photoshop.

Zeealex

Retired Forum Moderator
out of interest purely, what do you intend to do with it in photoshop? is it just to convert the model to an image file compatible with AE?

if it's completely gray, it sounds like you haven't added a texture to it. not sure how Maya works, but if you can get 3dsm 2012 ed version, I can help you texture it for export from there.

frussell89

you will need to bake the textures onto the model or create a uv map so you can texture it in photoshop.

Hi Hoogle! How would I bake the textures onto the model? Is there anyway that I can just bake the coloring AND the texturing from Maya onto the model so it stays intact in Photoshop? It just looks so good in the Maya render-- don't want to lose that...

Also I know vaguely how to use a UV map but can it be used to texture a model IN photoshop? I thought you could texture the UV map in photoshop but needed to actually put it onto the model in Maya.

frussell89