What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Illustrator Deleting paths

GR1P

Hey guys, I'm pretty new with Illustrator, and I'm trying to figure out how to delete a path, specifically the box surrounding the image.

I'm not sure if this is the correct way to convert an image to a path, but I'm trying to convert a color image to black and white.

I open the image, the go to Image Trace window and select Trace, then Expand in the toolbar. The image is traced, but I can't figure out how to delete the box surrounding the rest of the image.

I usually hit up YouTube, but I can't find any help there either.

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    248.3 KB · Views: 1
Hi GR1P.
I'm a bit confused here. First of all the box is not a path, it's a bounding box . It appears that the image your showing is a PNG file.
To convert an image to black and white, I would suggest doing that in Photoshop first. Then bring it into AI to trace. When I trace an image, I pull down the Trace panel , click on Advanced and check Ignore White. After tracing, you can expand the appearance and that makes the anchors editable with the Direct Selection tool. Also you may want to Simplify under Object/Path to reduce the number of anchors you have.

Okay, in that case I want to get rid of the bounding box and keep the image in the center. (I don't know all the terminology.)

I like the black and white image Illustrator produces better than what the Threshold in Photoshop produces, so I was hoping to keep using the black and white setting in Illustrator