What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Illustrator Absolute beginner question for you.

mindgem

Untitled-1.jpgOK. So I want to know how I can make a gradient fill for two separate forms. I say forms because it could be several objects or just one object but I can't figure out how the gradient can fill from left to right on a group which has two separated forms.
When I try I get the gradient to fill EACH object with left to right rather than treating the two forms as one object and fill it...

See the image, In photoshop you can just select the two shapes, fill it with gradient and it covers the full selected area from right to left.
In Illustrator I can't figure out how to do it...let me know.

hawkeye

Guru
If I understand you correctly, you need a transparency mask.
Make the layer with the two shapes you want filled with the gradient and fill them with WHITE, group them. In a layer below make a shape spanning the objects on the layer above and fill with the gradient. Select all the objects. Open the Transparency Panel and click Make Mask. Check mark the CLIP box.

Attachments

• ScreenShot001.jpg
    ScreenShot001.jpg
    24.1 KB · Views: 23
  • ScreenShot002.jpg
    ScreenShot002.jpg
    19.8 KB · Views: 23
  • ScreenShot003.jpg
    ScreenShot003.jpg
    19.7 KB · Views: 23

mindgem

Hey Hawkeye,

Thanx for helping out. I've tried your guide 3 times and I still can't get it to work. I can't see where I go wrong but let me bullet what I do..

1. make 2 shapes. give them white fill.
2. group them.
3. Inside the group I make a third shape covering the two first shapes which I will use as the mask.