What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Illustrator Working with poster sized documents?

Bigfish

I'm a novice so please bare with me.

I created a film poster sized document. Filled the background with red and attempted to add a grain to it. At that point my laptop began to melt, smoke, wurr and clang for ten minutes before I decided to close Illustrator before I had to call the fire brigade. I'm guessing that the size of the document is too large for rendering the grain. It is going to be a vector based poster so can I start on a smaller document put all my bits in and enlarge to poster size at the end?

Your thoughts are very much appreciated.

Thanks

peta62

Guru
Hello, I am afraid if you enlarge the document at the end it will enlarge the grain too. I am not sure this is what you intend. I am sure others will come up with better solutions, the only things coming to my mind is creating grain brush or copy smaller many times with overlapping.

Edit : I overlooked it was Illustrator, I know only Photoshop. What about doing the base with grain in Photoshop and then using it in Illustrator, would that work and help ?

Last edited:

Bigfish

Thanks for replying Peta62.

I'll do the grain like you suggested in photoshop and see what happens. I'll have a look at creating a brush or similar too. Will let you know.

Tom Mann

Guru
There are a couple of important concepts you need to know when printing at this size.