What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

[WIP]Water Damage Repair

Tristen Shaw

Ok, this is my first attempt at a restoration other than scratches and holes.

It's a bit ambitious and might very well be over my head considering I don't truly know how to work things like "color balance", "Curves", and "hue/saturation" in any other way than "play with it till it works."

So here it is, and I'm hoping for some input and suggestions to help me improve my ability. :)

Greg Lucas water-damaged fireman.jpg

inprogress.jpg

All I have on there is a Hue/Saturation a Color Balance, and a Dust/Scratch as well as a little patch tool work.

Tom Mann

Guru
It's almost certainly too mucked up to extract any useful color info from it. I would suggest you turn it into a B&W and do a full re-colorization on it.

Just a few days ago in this forum, there was a very similar situation with an old, damaged photo of a man on a horse. The final recolorization demos were quite nice.

Tom

Tristen Shaw

Thanks for the advice!

Here are a couple questions:

How do you know when a photo doesn't have enough color to extract?

How do you recolor parts of a photo where you don't even know what the blobs of shape and color in the background is?

Tom Mann

Guru
Thanks for the advice!
Here are a couple questions:

How do you know when a photo doesn't have enough color to extract?

I really don't want to appear glib, but the answer is either (a) from (sad) experience ;-), or, (b) try it yourself in every way you can imagine and slowly build up your own sense of what can and can not be done.

How do you recolor parts of a photo where you don't even know what the blobs of shape and color in the background is?