What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Skin retouching with frequency separation

CCONN

Some before and after pictures of me re-touching photos using frequency separation. I'm still learning Photoshop but I think these look pretty good.

What do you guys think? Comments and/or suggestions would be appreciated :)

Before: nDKj13R.jpg After: 1LGXzgi.jpg

Before: LzoIBH0.jpg After: ryahcNZ.jpg

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Frequency separation is a popular method as you know. We have a couple of members here that are very good at this. I don't do very many re-touches myself but have worked with it some just to learn about it. I will refrain from discussing it and let the experts voice their comments. I'm sure you will get some good info and opinions.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome.

Frequency separation is very difficult to learn. It takes time, practice, and experience to be proficient at it. Most beginners get similar results as you have with over processed after images. A great rule to follow is that LESS is MORE. Your first image looks fairly decent although too much detail has been removed from the skin that it looks blurry and unnatural, but it's a pretty good job.

I'm going to pass on any comments addressing the second after image. Sorry.

Practice, Patience, and Perseverance.............then practice some more!

ALB68

"Practice, Patience, and Perseverance.............then practice some more!"