What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ElizabethM

Took a picture of this couple on their wedding day two weeks ago and just came around to editing the images. Quite pleased with myself actually, as I am still learning the ropes of photo editing and retouching. Even altering the backgrounds a bit to put the focal point more on the subject of the image.

What do you guys think and as there is always room for improvement, do you have any tips? :)

WeddingCoupleSmaller.jpg

WeddingCoupleSmaller2.jpg

Tom Mann

Guru
Nice job, Elizabeth.

Two suggestions:

a) In your first pair, my feeling is that for most viewers of this type of photography, leaving the little girl (flower girl?) in trumps leaving the top of the door in the photo, so I would offer a version where you crop the image right above the couple's heads, but leave the girl in so that the final format is more square. Yeah, the composition then becomes a bit un-balanced, but IMHO, that adds to the spontaneity of this photo.

b) In your 2nd pair, square it up please. Verticals need to be either exactly vertical, or far from vertical (eg, an intentionally diagonal composition) because "just a bit off" looks like an error made by an amateur photographer.

T

Good retouching work Elisabeth.
Still a few things in wedding photography/retouching are very important.

1. Skin color should look natural. Be careful with applying Hue/saturation or color correction. ( Brides don't like glowing cheeks).
2. Try to keep all the details in the white dress and the black suit.

To achieve a good result you have to make a selection of different parts to get what you want.

WeddingCoupleSmaller2.jpg

hawkeye

Guru