What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How I draw cars in PS: WIPtorial?

lemorris

I was asked to do this on another forum. I can share here if you like. I'm working on a gig right now that I plan on finishing this weekend so you can follow along if you want.

I'm no expert and I know there is like a thousand ways to do stuff in Photoshop. My intent is to show you how I do it. I think the way everybody does it is fine, as long as you like the results you get. I'll try not to be too wordy. I'll try to answer questions. Should be fun.

So

The Job:
It's a a 3 car t-shirt design for a Northern California aircooled (old) VW shop. They sent me photos of their vehicles for reference and their company logo. Ultimately the design will be 5 color spot separated and ready for the screenprinter to output, burn screens and print. Pretty routine.

Step 1:

I start by doing all my pencil work. I draw the vehicles on regular old paper. I use a 5mm zebra tech pencil and a lot of eraser! I draw each vehicle at least twice, sometimes more. After I do the initial drawing, I scan it, size it up, print it out in blue line (ctrl+U hue/saturation colorize) then I put it on my lighttable and tape a clean piece of paper over it and transfer it. I fix what I can and repeat this process until I'm ok with the pencil base. I like starting out with the pencil because it gives the final render a more organic feel. It's still digital but the imperfections make it human. It's why I like Bugs Bunny so much.

:)

Here's the bus rough 1:
smitty_01.jpg

Here's the bus rough 2:
smitty_03.jpg

Here's the Bug rough 2:
smitty_02.jpg

Last edited:

lemorris