What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Please help me to fix this damaged, old, scanned, black and white photo

blasteralfred

Hi gurus,
I am a PS newbie. I have a scanned copy of one old black and white photograph. The photo is damaged, in the sense that;
  • The color of photo become yellowish. Instead of "black and white", its now like a "sepia" effect
  • There are grains all over the image. Which means, the photo is not "smooth", instead, there are small damages, which overall makes a grains effect.
  • The photograph contain some stains / stamp marks.
I have tried some days going after tutorials and videos, but none of them worked for me. The most effective tutorial was http://www.digitalcameraworld.com/2...to-rescue-vintage-prints-and-family-pictures/
Somebody please help me to fix this, 'm stuck, and I will be really thankful. I am attaching the image.

Thanks in advance

C6hHCND.jpg

gedstar

Guru
Hi

This was done very quickly just as an example
To remove the sepia effect I just added a Black and White adjustment layer
To remove the grainy effect I used the dust and scratches filter, first I converted the image to a smart object that way I was able to mask out the effect on the face
Lastly I just used the spot healing brush on a new layer to remove the stains etc

C6hHCND1 as Smart Object-1.jpg

Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Had a quick blast with several filters and spot healing work...
It may be your screenshot, but your image looks very muddy, and blurred. Looks like you went crazy with the Blur Tool.

Do you have a better image?

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator