What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

CYMK vs RGB

Oh for Chrissake!

Hi folks,

I eventually want to physically print a comic book. The printer across the street basically said that commercial printing mean CMYK colors.

So, should I simply create and save my work in CMYK, or use RGB and then convert, assuming that the colors translate perfectly each time? Is there an advantage to either way? Disadvantage?

I'm just starting to learn about color in Pshop (and in general for graphics) and there is such a sh*tload of info it's scary. I'm glad I was smart enough to do my first comics in black and white a la Love and Rockets style so I could just focus on learning the tools. Learning color now seems more manageable and accessible.

OFC

Hoogle

Guru
if your printing in CMYK then start your project off with CMYK as when it comes to actual print you may find colour changes from how you saw it converted on screen and may be a bit let down with final printing results.

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
There has been a good bit of discussion on this topic lately. It can be quite confusing, but your printer is right and is telling you correctly as far as commercial printing goes. I believe though that the conventional wisdom is to use RGB for your color space during your creation process, then let your commercial printing company make the conversion. Good printers do that in this day and age. However, if he wants you to do it in CMYK then follow his instructions. One thing you need to be sure of is that your working with a calibrated monitor, so what you see is what your going to get regardless of the color space.