What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to make this more realistic?

FlyAwayFaith

*looks around* OMG it's been so long...

I've tried editing a dog into this old pic of my dad, but it still seems a bit unrealistic. :cry:

What can be done to make it blend in better?

551724_351141918281785_129160098_n.jpg551724_351141918281785_129160098_n[1] copy.jpg

German_Shepherd_Clipart[3].png

Rich54

Guru
Hello. I'm just a photoshop hobbyist, not a professional or guru, but in my opinion the dog is sharper and has more contrast than the original photo, which is what's making it look a bit fake. The original photo is grainy, faded, stained and slightly blurry, but the dog is none of those. In particular, the bottom edge of the dog's tail looks like it was cut-out with scissors. Same with the dog's back and ears. I think softening the dog's edges, possibly adding some grain and reducing the contrast would make him (or her) better match the rest of the photo.

Rich54

Guru
I'm at work (it's a slow day), so I don't have photoshop available to experiment, but here are some things I would try to make the dog equally blurry and "distressed" as the rest of the photo:
  • Use the blur tool, set to a small pixel size and perhaps 50% opacity, to go around and soften all the hard edges of the dog. If possible, work with only the dog on its own separate layer.