What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Photo Mosaics without software

nkuronen

So I am a self taught photoshopper and I had a friend ask me to do cover art for his next album. He's just a small time local artist and had the pretty generic idea of a photo mosaic of his face made up of other pictures, but I don't believe in doing poor quality work. I'm a little lost on how to go about this project though. I know that I have to place photos of the same color on his face to build it up but I'm not sure how to start. All I can find for tutorials on the subject either use the same photo over and over or use overlay or something to make the photos appear to be the right color when they aren't actually. Or people just use software to do it for them. Can anyone help with either tips or a link to a tutorial or anything about how to organically make a photo mosaic in photoshop. I don't want to use software because he wants to make money off his album and I don't want to step on copyright infringements and I also think it looks stiff. Any tips??

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hi nkuronen and welcome to PSG.

I have spent some time tonight searching for a way to "organically" make a photo mosaic in Photoshop and I came up empty. While I think it could be done in Photoshop, I think it would be a project of astronomical proportion. You would need a massive image library that categorized each image on overall color value. Set up a grid overlaying the original image, the smaller the better, then choosing each image based on color, resizing to fit and fill a corresponding grid box. I can't imagine the time this could take.