What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luminosity Masks Issue

Limpopoboy

Hi Guru's

I am fairly new to PS and currently using PS6. I have recently discovered the luminosity mask and am working on this with my chosen genre Wildlife/Nature/Landscapes. I have created the masks (vrun via an action) as you can see from the attached screen capture and things were running smoothly. I was creating different masks as required now for some reason as you can see from the screen shot in channels my RGB and Red Green and blue channels are fine but my masks are either now black and or white and when trying to load I dont and cant get my masks to show (marching ants) what have I done wrong? have I ticked something I shouldn't have? was working perfectly well and the current action works well on my PS5 copy so I am stumped.

Can you gurus help its driving me nuts.

Regards

Limpopoboy

luminosity mask issue.jpg

Hoogle

Guru
all your channels appeared to be turned off so you will need to activate 1 channel before you can make a selection of it.

Limpopoboy

Hey Hoogle

Thanks for your quick response. I assume you mean the eye beside each channel? if yes then no tried that (activate) it just turns the whole image red mask (I assume) whether they are all on or none

Any other ideas?

Regards

Tony

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
There are a few different ways to accomplish and execute luminosity masking, all require that the RGB channel is active/turned on as Hoogle points out. I personally use them with adjustment layers. What I'm not understanding is how you've managed to not have any of the channel layers turned on!