What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help making such picture.

awaixjvd

Hi everyone

I am not that much newbie to Photoshop but still i am not an expert. That is why i am here to seek some help.
I am trying to make one of my picture like the attached image.
I tried posterize the image and setting the value to 5 and then applying gradient map and giving different colors but it doesn't make it like the one in picture. The image gets distorted and the features of face doesn't get elaborated.

Can anyone help me out please in this regards?

Attachments

• russel_crowe_in_wpap_by_prie610-d35s4tg.jpg
    russel_crowe_in_wpap_by_prie610-d35s4tg.jpg
    232.6 KB · Views: 3

Tom Mann

Guru
I would start with the cutout filter, not posterize. The gradient map is a good next step. You'll likely have to fade in some of the original in areas with a lot if detail like the eyes.

T

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
LOL!! Yeah, I really wanted Bieber!

I was just doing something similar to what the OP posted.

Tom Mann

Guru
Thanks, Sam. That was the thread I was thinking about, but was at dinner, so I couldn't look it up. Yup, I think your method (in that thread) was closer than mine.

However, I actually regard both of our methods only as starting points because I don't think the shapes in this image look like either of our methods. My suspicion is that they were probably were drawn in by eye, using the pen tool, based loosely on these as starting points.

Best regards,

Tom

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Yes, the shapes are different, but I still believe that they were made individually using the Polygonal Lasso Tool.