What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Removing graphics and other effects from the image of a map.

wheelstb

I am very new to Photoshop. I have attached an image of a map.

I would like to remove all of the markers and other things in the image. Ideally I would like to be left with just the map itself. No background or anything like. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I am trying to learn through a hands-on approach. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for the help.

Attachments

• hp map.JPG
    hp map.JPG
    54.3 KB · Views: 37

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello wheel and welcome to PSG.

You can use the CLONE STAMP TOOL to remove the markers/letters.

Before
Screen Shot 2014-08-16 at 4.49.17 PM.png

After
Screen Shot 2014-08-16 at 4.49.30 PM.png

You can use the PEN TOOL or the POLYGONAL LASSO TOOL to remove the background.

Screen Shot 2014-08-16 at 4.51.23 PM.png

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Sam gave you the tools to use but the Burning question...DO YOU KNOW ANYMORE THAN YOU DID???

wheelstb

Thank you to Sam and everyone for the great information. I actually stumbled upon a similar solution using selection tools and the content aware future.Is always good to know another future/solution.