What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Creating artwork for cone shape cooler

ManishMan

hey guys i'm trying to create an artwork for a cone shape cooler with sizes (top: 1555.75mm , bottom: 1244.6mm, height: 368.3mm).

My problem is if I just drew a shape with the dimensions above and create my artwork with that shape would my artwork be distorted when it is placed on the cooler?

I'm really new in dealing with cone shaped labels, so I would be happy if someone could guide me through this process. I'm using photoshop cs5
Awaiting your response.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Post an example of what your referring to.

dv8_fx

Retired Administrator
Oiii.... this is a good one. Been a long time since I created a cone shaped design but that was done in Corel Draw with a script for it.

Unless someone here has a formula right now, it'll take a while to find that script and come up with a formula or at least a PS template for you.

@ALB68 ..... since you were in printing before, do you have a template? :cheesygrin: .... or at least the frustum formula for creating the template?

ManishMan

That is exactly what I though.. i done designs for latte cups already and the images gets distorted based on the template i use.. its really difficult.. but i need some quick help

dv8_fx

Retired Administrator
If you don't mind, could you give me just the top and bottom diameter. Not the entire circumference.....

If done on a normal, rectangular template, the design will distort once shaped into a cone.

MrToM

Guru
What size (in px) template do you need dv8?

If those dimensions are correct I can do you one easily using Max.