What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello Gurus! Question about making custom grids!

timoat

My name is Tim, I am a painter. I usually paint from reference photos, and sometimes I need to make a grid in photoshop, that then will correspond with my canvas or paper irl. Before, Ive basically just gotten out the ol´ calcutor and divided and divided and divide, it takes forever and is a pain to remember all the numbers, especially because the photos have different sizes (and the have to for varoius reasons). I was thinking with this fine program we have, there must be a way that automates this process.

So the question is:

Is there a way to generate an automatic grid that instantly divides whatever sized photo I have into equal parts? It would figure out by itsself where half of the half of the half etc is.

Any help will be much appreciated!

Cheers Tim

dv8_fx

Retired Administrator
Hi there....

This might help..... Be it PS or CS version you have, you can set the GRID frequency and qualities in PREFERENCE under Guides, Grid and Slices. You'll have to do the math to figure out how you want it.....

GridsGuidesSlices.jpg

You have to restart PS for changes to take effect.

Give it a try... hope this helps.

dv8_fx

Retired Administrator
I reread your post...... I think you meant something you don't have to do every time you have a new different sized image to apply the appropriate grid settings?....

Off hand... none that I know but someone here may have a solution for you.