What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Convert text to outlines

isb63

Hi. I am new here. This is my first post. I have Googled my problem, but have not found any real answer. If this has been asked and answered before, and I am sure it probably has--then my apologies.
I am just learning Photoshop. The heading to convert text to outlines is greyed out for me. It is not because I am missing that font, because I am using a font from PS. Does anyone know why this is greyed out? Is there a fix? Or, alternatively, is there a way to work around this? Thanks for all suggestions.

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Hi isb63,
What Version of PS are you using?
Is the font using a faux bold? Is it just that one font or all? Open the Window/Character panel and see if bold is indicated-the T on the far left will be highlighted,,click it to turn it off.

Also..there is no such thing as a "font from PS". Fonts are stand alone entities with no program affiliation.

Last edited:

Tom Mann

Guru
In almost any version of PS in the past 5 or more years (...not sure about "Elements"), the easiest way to get an outline of a letter is to use the "stroke" and "fill amount" functions on the "Layers Properties/Style" dialog box. You get to this by double clicking on the layer that contains the lettering of interest.

So, for example, here is an un-adorned letter:

Outline_of_letters-_0000_01-Just_the_basic_letter.jpg

Next, we turn on stroke using "Layer Properties / Style":

Layer_properties-screen_shot.jpg

To get this:

Outline_of_letters-_0001_02-Letter plus stroke.jpg

Then, we reduce "fill" to zero to get this:

Outline_of_letters-_0002_03-Just the stroke.jpg

HTH,

Tom M