What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What technique/tool was used to create these lights and shadows?

SimonaKo

Hello all

I'm a new member here so hopefully I'm posting in the right section! :thumbsup:

Now... I'm not a newbie with PS but I just can't figure out how these lights and shadows were created on the characters. Btw, these photos were taken in a virtual world and then edited in, I assume, PS.
I really like the polished look. These pics look almost like some photos in magazines like Vogue.
I did speak to the guy who edited them and asked what his technique is, but he barely speaks English so he explained just that he uses different blend modes. I did try many times better new achieve anything close to these images.

How could I achieve this effect and what 'tricks' are there to creating such nice lights and shadows?

Thanks!

2.jpg3.jpg1.jpg

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
This is a loaded question. You will have to be much more specific and point out a particular shadow.

Do you have examples of these before the shadows? I suspect many were generated in the original 3D program.

There can be many techniques used here. But here are the basic tools used: Pen Tool, Brush Tool, color fill, and Gradient Tool

SimonaKo

I found another photo, edited by someone else which has sort of similar lighting to the first editor. This is really the only close before and after I can find.
4.jpg

Perhaps this one too:
5.jpg

Just to make it clearer... Most photos taken in that virtual world are pretty flat. As in they don't have much shadow/light. I'm posting another pic just so you can see how a totally unedited photo looks like:
6.jpg