What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Outlining A Layer/Item With Vector Based Image?

jdlev

Hi guys,

Forgive me as I'm still learning the terminology used in Photoshop. So here's what I'm trying to do. I want to snap a bicycle chain to the work path I created around a logo. Basically have a bicycle chain bend and maneuver it's way around the whole outside of this logo which is it's own layer. So far all I've been able to do is get it to reveal the bike chain using a brush with a pattern I created. I can't actually bend the bike chain or have it follow the path. The pattern I made is made up of multiple links in the chain, and is a fairly sizable image, should I just go for one link in the chain and make it much smaller, and then try it again?

Thanks for any help!

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Hi jedlv
Welcome to the forum.
In so far as I know, the only thing that can be set to follow a vector path is text, if that was your question.

Last edited:

hawkeye

Guru
Make a path. Set the bike chain brush Shape Dynamic Angle Jitter to Direction, then stroke the path with the bush

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Make a path. Set the bike chain brush Shape Dynamic Angle Jitter to Direction, then stroke the path with the bush

Demo please. The OP is a new user, I am interested to see this also. This is not really fitting to a path, this is a brush application. Does OP have a brush made of the chain?

Last edited:

MrToM

Guru
...Does OP have a brush made of the chain?...

Good point Larry.....looks like they have a 'pattern' but not a brush preset...