What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Editing Vintage Photo - Exposure and color matching issues

Mrryder

Hello!

Thank you for checking out my post. I'm fairly new to photoshop, but I have a rough understanding of the basics. I am working on a t-shirt concept and I am using some old photos I found.

I am wondering if it would be possible to get rid of this huge shadow cast in this photo:
Screen Shot 2015-07-17 at 3.09.35 PM.png

As you can see it cuts just below the subjects neck. I started playing around with the masks and trying to change the exposure, but when I do get the exposure accurate the color doesn't match. I guess I would have to just add a color balance filter? And then try and get it close. I wanted to come here and see if maybe there was a better way.

Thanks!

M

Tom Mann

Guru
If you could post the actual source file, it will be a lot easier for us to help you.

Thanks,

Tom M

Tom Mann

Guru
There are several reasons why experienced Photoshoppers always prefer to work on (or demonstrate techniques to work on) original images.