What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looking for help with an effect

dlc

Hi, i am new to Photoshop cc and i am updating my website but i am stuck with an effect that i have seen, i have spent two weeks now on what i first thought was a simple layer blend thing!
I was wrong, so i am asking for help even if some one can tel me what the effect is called, here is the effect i am trying to do.
james-content.jpg as you can see black and red but i am going to be using blue and black, the faded background is no problem it's the band members pictures i am struggling with.

Thanks
dlc

MrToM

Guru
This is just one example of how to create this...

You just need a good mask of the image first, although this will depend on the LOD you need in the final image.....the more detail the better the mask, the less detail, (as in my example), the less accurate you need to be.

Once you have the background removed applying the 'Posterize' filter will turn the greyscale image into a 1bit image....from here you can smooth it out with the noise...set to 'Median'. This can also be used to change the LOD should you need to at this stage.

Regards.
MrToM.

dlc

Hi MrToM, first i would like to thank you for your reply and the video.
Having spent all day yesterday watching the video and trying to reproduce this effect i am still missing something, possible a shortcut on the keyboard that's not in the video!
I say this because one or two things don't happen in my Photoshop like it does in the video and i can't work it out, my efforts don't look anything like yours, sorry but could you
possible give me a break down on the procedure please as it's the right one and is brill, thanks.

Regards
Dlc