What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is there a way of adjusting the traction of the cursor on the layer?

Agnes Matilda Pye

I'm not very good at writing notes so I use photoshop to edit the original papers I read for my studies. It actually works really well, but my one problem is this:

I use the pen selection tool alot cut out selections of text. It would replace a highlighter perfectly, were it not for the fact that I find the process too 'slippery'. It's difficult to make precise selections as alot of the time I move my hand slightly too much and end up selecting way too much.

Is there any way to add some traction between the cursor and the layer, to make the selection less fluid? Or a way to make the tool select little bits at a time in fast succession, like the hightlighter on Word?

I'd really appreciate some tips, something like this would be a lifesaver.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome. I understand you question, but I'm not sure what tool your talking about.

This is the Pen Tool.
Screen Shot 2015-12-12 at 10.23.55 PM.png

theKeeper

Guru
I'm not sure exactly what it is you're doing.

Are these 'papers' active or live? Or are they PDFs or static images?

If the text is 'active' or 'live', then hold they Shift key while tapping the left/right arrow keys will select a single letter. Holding down Ctrl+Shift while tapping the left/right arrow keys will select entire words. To select an entire line of text hold Ctrl+Shift and tap the Down arrow key to select in front of the xursor, Up arrow key to select behind the cursor.

This is common word processor app stuff.