What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anybody here knows how to create this style on PS?

hugorockz

Hi guys! I'm new here, I'm a fashion designer and I've got a photoshoot coming up in 1 week. I'm not very good with PhotoShop. Hence, I'm here asking for help. Does anybody here knows how to replicate this style on PS? Thanks a lot.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 3.43.18 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 3.43.18 PM.png
    541.4 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:

Tom Mann

Guru
First of all, you will need someone with a good working knowledge of lighting because there are at least three lights on the subject:
1. Forehead illuminated by a well collimated, narrow beam (snoot or Fresnel - a gridded softbox probably won't be good enough) light that is to the viewer's left and slightly in back of the subject.
2. Near shoulder illuminated by another narrow beam light that is almost directly above the camera.
3. The back of the subject's head and his back are illuminated by yet another narrow beam light that is to the viewer's right and also slightly in back of the subject.

All three of the lights are probably gelled to get close to the orange look. You can't get quite the same color look using only the color balance sliders in ACR, even if you shoot RAW.

You will also need a camera with a relatively long, wide aperture lens - almost certainly over 100 mm (35 mm equivalent focal length) and probably f/2.8 or faster to get nice bokeh for the background.