What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Achieving a realistic soft lighting effect in post processing (Photoshop)

stella89

Hello!

I have a mystery I need help solving!

I am a photographer and have been using photoshop on and off for about 4 years! I just cannot figure out what is done to this photo that makes it look this way! I know its not too hard or anything I just cant figure it out!

IMG_5884.PNG
THIS IS NOT MY PHOTO - IT IS A EXAMPLE OF THE TYPE OF EDIT I WOULD LIKE TO DO TO MY FRESH 48 SESSIONS!

can anyone please solve this mystery for me?!?!?

Tom Mann

Guru
Specifically, what aspect of the photo are u referring to? The brightness of the background? It being slightly out of focus? The low contrast of the mom? The colors? Something else?

Tom M

stella89

Specifically, what aspect of the photo are u referring to? The brightness of the background? It being slightly out of focus? The low contrast of the mom? The colors? Something else?

Tom M

I am referring to the coloring of the photo and how it looks "creamy" I understand how to get the blur effect but the lighting looks so creamy.
I am not sure if "soft light" would be a good description but it looks soft to me.

The coloring and lighting is what I am trying to accomplish.

I did a selective color layer and reduced the black and that sort of helped but still have not achieved this look.

Tom Mann

Guru
Hi Stella -

Thanks for the info. It clarifies what you are looking for.

I've know that some wedding and engagement photographers use PS actions that produce efx like this, but since you can search those for yourself, I tried to at least get close using nothing but native PS tools.