What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Giving a modern photo an antique look.

roychan100

Hi guys, I am new to photoshop, and I wonder is there any ways that I can create this rustic filter on my images like this images I pulled out from Harry's? Thanks in advance!

Screenshot 2016-07-25 16.14.08.png
Screenshot 2016-07-25 16.14.16.png

Tom Mann

Guru
If this is the sort of antique effect you are looking for, let me know and I'll write up the steps for you later today.

Tom M

PS - I intentionally exaggerated my changes to make the effect clearer. Obviously, one can easily tone it down by mixing in more of the original and making other minor changes.

Attachments

• original-tjm01-ps01a-01.jpg
    original-tjm01-ps01a-01.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 7

roychan100

Hey Tom, appreciate your reply. That would be perfect! Try searching for videos on youtube, most of them are vintage photography style as opposed to the antiqued style I was looking for. Thanks a million!

Tom Mann

Guru
So, working my way up the layer stack, this is what I did:

1) Added a color balance layer, using which, I substantially warmed the image. I used only the midtones tab, moving the yellow-blue and cyan-red sliders to get the desired warmth/hue.

2) Added a vibrance/sat layer and moved both sliders to the left, probably to about -20.