What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Creating shapes with light effect

Alex30

Hello,
I am quite new to Photoshop.
I would like to create an image like the one that is displayed on the attachment, but with blue color instead of gray.
Can you advice a method for creating such an image?
Thanks in advance,
Alex.

Attachments

• footer.gif
    footer.gif
    9.3 KB · Views: 46

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello Alex and welcome to PSG.

(There are many ways to do things in Photoshop, this is one way.)

While simple, these types of effects require a basic understanding of selections. So let's start there.

The rule is that you can only work on the inside of a selection. A selection (or some call it a marquee) is identified by the marching ants.

So if I have a selection like the one below....
Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 8.07.10 PM.png

........and I make a swipe at the selection with the Brush Tool, I will only see the color inside the selection.
Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 8.08.22 PM.png

Taking the same selection as the first image above and inverting it like this.............
Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 8.08.39 PM.png

I now have marching ants on the original ellipse as well as the outside edge of canvas.
So now where will a brush stroke appear?
It will still always appear inside the selection like this.......
Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 8.11.36 PM.png

In order to make the effect like the one you asking about, you must first make a selection on your canvas.
Here I have used the Pen Tool to make the selection.
Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 8.28.09 PM.png

Then I used the Brush Tool to add in the color.
Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 8.29.28 PM.png