What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bringing back one colour only from a black & white converted image.

Dazzy

I am fairly new to Photoshop. After converting a photo to black and white how can I then bring back one colour - for example all the orange pumpkins in a Halloween pic, but let all the rest stay black and white. Or - perhaps it is done the other way, by retaining the pumpkins colour and making all the rest black and white. Many thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Once an image has been opened into Ps and converted to Black &White, the only way to go back to a color image is to hit Cmd/Cntrl + Z to back step.

However to answer your question more literally, take a look here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgmTl2Hbdsc

To expand a bit on what Sam and the video are suggesting, just desaturate (...or do a "real" B&W conversion) everything but the part of the image that you want to remain in color. The way to do this is to learn how to select various objects, hence Sam's suggestion of that video.

One could, in principle, desaturate the entire image, and then use the history brush to reveal the previous state of the image in certain areas. The problem is that very few people work this way because one can get much better selections using all of the wonderful selection tools that Photoshop provides, compared to painting part of an image pixel by pixel with the history brush to return that area to its original state. In addition, if you use a layer mask, you haven't made any destructive changes to the image itself. If you don't like the results, you can tweak the mask to your heart's content till it looks good without any loss in quality.