What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need help with Road Sign resolution

moshepherds

Hey everyone!

I designed a couple signs in photoshop, and sent it to the graphic design company. This is my first time doing this, so there are going to be some glitches.

The issue I am having is tone of the signs needs to be 12 by 8 feet, the other 8 x 8 feet with 100 dpi.

When I sent the image over to the company, they said it will appear blurry up close but legible from the road due to the resolution. My understanding is resolution and dpi are the same thing, but it must be the actual size of the sign when I send it over and at 100 dpi.

The company said I can make it a vector image, but I only have access to photoshop and not a vector program.

Another option I had was to make it half the size at 200dpi, which I can do but they said it would still look blurry close up.

i need some advice, what would you do in this situation?

fredfish

Guru
You could upload it here and one of the board members may well be able to convert it to vector for you.

Alternatively you could download something like Inkscape which is an open source vector drawing program. It has some trace options - or you could redesign the image in Inkscape itself.

You can get Inkscape here https://inkscape.org/en/

Cheers

John

moshepherds

Thank you so much for getting back!

The file is huge since it is going to be a big sign, so idk how well it would upload unless I could resize it, have it vectorized. i would do it myself, but it would be my first time vectorizing, something I don't want to practice on a sign that the world would see. I know i would make some errors haha! How should I upload the file? I