What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brushes + Threshold + Different Colors?

TommyS

Howdy folks!

My first time here at these forums. I'm a print/textile/graphic designer and I haven't seen an answer to this question anywhere on the webs.
This is sort of a complicated question. I'll do my best to ask it in a comprehensible way.

I love the hard edges and visual effect of the threshold adjustment layer when I paint on a layer below it, I just want to control what color it uses instead of black. Is there a way I can preserve the adjustment layer, and recolor only the black?
I know I can pull the black out of the channels, make a new layer with that selection, and recolor it from there, but I'd like to see if there's a way to do that without going through those steps.

I appreciate the help!

colleague

Guru
when you make a top layer filled with the color you want , then put this layer on mode "lighter color"
the color will be lighter then the black , but never lighter then white

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Easy.

Original.
Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 2.40.12 PM.png

Threshold.........
Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 2.40.21 PM.png

Solid Color adjustment layer set to screen and clipped to the threshold layer.
Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 2.40.30 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 2.40.38 PM.png

TommyS

Ahh! Lovely. That's exactly the effect I was looking for. Though, I'd like to use fewer layers if possible. I'm planning on having a lot of other layers both on top and below with this effect.

Thanks for the reply!

TommyS