What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Victoria Plum

Hi everyone.

I am an artist and have just made a fatal error!

I have designed some new greetings cards and decided to do the A6 (folding to A7) designs first. I've completed 18 designs and have printed them off and they look fab. Then I went to do them in A5 (folding to A6) and suddenly realised I would have to redesign the whole lot as I had set the canvas to the smaller size, and so I would lose quality printing bigger. DOH!

The cards are plain with a single ink drawing in the middle, and a large file size image.

Is there any way at all of upscaling the whole thing to A5 size? When I tried to print in A5 it warned me it would be below 300dpi.

I'm so frustrated with myself!

I should point out I am using photoshop elements.

Last edited:

MrToM

Guru
...Is there any way at all of upscaling the whole thing to A5 size?...
Yes.

Use IMAGE > IMAGE SIZE...

upscaling_MT_01.png

1. Check 'Resample'. (You may need to experiment with which interpolation method to use but start with automatic, see how it goes.)
2. (OPTIONAL) Your aspect ratio should still be correct so no need to do anything here but if it wasn't you could change it by unchecking the link icon.
3. Enter the size of the A5 paper.
4. Change the 'Resolution' to whatever specification you need.

The pixel dimensions of the image, (top of the dialog window), will change according to the 'Size' and 'Resolution' you choose.
(Should be double what you started with)

You know 'upscaling' is a no-no and shouldn't be done but you may just get away with it....depends on the image really.
Try it, on a copy, and see.