What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

On Commercial Shoots, How Do I Mount Products?

aj_sartor

Hi, everyone. I'm new to studio photography, and looking for some help with how to mount products that I'm shooting such as watches, cologne bottles, etc.. I think I've seen that photographers have used some kinds of extension arms? I see all these clamps, and grips, and I'm not sure what it all is, or what I do/don't need. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Tom Mann

Guru
Your question illustrates exactly why the person filling the key grip position is always listed prominently in the credits for all movies. It takes a lifetime of practical, hands-on experience to become really proficient in knowing how to mount "things" whether they be heavy lights, cameras, large or small products, scrims, etc. Such people typically have been expert do-it-yourself artists before they are even considered to be hired as even an assistant grip. This is because a lot of mounting problems are solved by one-of-a-kind, hand-made mounting rigs.