What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Advantages of tablets and are they necessary

chico

I am new to the Photoshop sofware and I see that some artists use tablets for their artwork. Are these worth the money that they go for and are in your opinions do they make using Photoshop easier? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Tron

Guru
chico - use the boards search function and search for graphic tablets. Tere are quite a number of discusions on this topic already on the forum :perfect:

and BTW Welcome 8))

Welles

Guru
Most people who use a Wacom with Photoshop never go back to just the mouse. A smaller minority don't like them. One particular area of added utility is in pressure responses and brushes. Much of their value depends on what you do. If you manipulate photographs as your primary task in Photoshop, it would be less important than if you were creating images which required lots of brushwork, it seems to me.

Things I've read over and over are a huge tablet is not necessarily better than a smaller one which would require less arm motion and many are happy with a 4" X 5". If you do get one, put your mouse in a drawer for two weeks and don't use it. That will create circumstances for most rapidly becoming accustomed to it's use. Use of both the pen and mouse is a very utilitarian combination. If you have a multi-monitor setup with an extended desktop, the entire screen real estate is represented on your tablet so a larger one might be in order.

If at all possible, before buying a tablet, try and borrow one long enough to get a feel for it, or at least give one a try in a store prior to buying although the physical learning curve is a week or two.