What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi,

My name is Lee. I'm a new member.

I'm not a professional designer. I design simple things like my own business cards for my dog training business.

I'm woefully inept at understanding how Photoshop works. I have version 8.0.

Lately my select tool has been exhibiting a mind of its own, which is why I decided to join the group to see if anyone has any ideas on how to fix it.

That's about it!

Thanks!

Hello Lee and welcome to the forum. We're glad to have you join us and looking forward to seeing some of your work.

Which select tool are you referring to? The Quick Selection Tool?

Hello Lee and welcome to the forum. We're glad to have you join us and looking forward to seeing some of your work.

Which select tool are you referring to? The Quick Selection Tool?

I Sam,

I think it's called The Rectangular Marquee tool? It enables you to copy and paste an image onto (or into) a file, or copy an entire file.

It started acting up by copying images with rounded corners and faded borders. Now it won't copy an entire file. I have to copy and paste pieces of an image instead.

Remember, I'm using Photoshop CS 8.0!

Thanks again,

Lee

Here's how my business card looks.

2014 Business Card.jpg

If I want to copy it to another file, I have to do it in stages because this is all the tool allows me to copy for some reason.

2014 Partial Bus. Card.jpg

I hope this helps explain things.