What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi - Urgent help need with replacing background

BrandonDouglas

Hi,

First off, my name is Brandon, I'm 19 and I'm a student at the University of Greenwich studying Film & Television Production.

Now, the problem I have is this, I had a last minute photoshoot where I didn't have the best equipment with me which has left me and my limited
Photoshop knowledge in a bit of a pickle.

The type of images I'm working with are like this
10658954_755393784521848_2626909736252667392_o.jpg

What I need to do is remove the current background so i have a solid white background instead.
I've already had a go at a couple simply using the quick selection tool and they look like this.
10688012_755393857855174_251543069691269492_o.jpg1795163_755393874521839_2041259325225184932_o.jpg

I wanted to know if there was a better way, as the quick selection tool isn't perfect and doesn't work well enough
on some of the photos (where the ladies hair is parted etc.)

The image with the green screen behind it up top is the one
I'm struggling with at the moment.

Thanks for your help!
Brandon.

Tom Mann

Guru
Did you try the refine edges command after using the quick selection tool? If not, give it a shot. It may be all that you need.

BrandonDouglas

Hi Tom,

I have played around with the settings on refine edges but I still get alot of oddities, mainly with the girls hair.
This is the best I can do with the image posted above...
1273154_755399067854653_3244874252355093217_o.jpg
As you can see, there's alot of green still around the girls hair

BrandonDouglas