What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New member help needed...from Alex

alex birch

Hi
I'm a new member and was wondering if anyone could help me.
I have a logo that is width 432 x height 261 in pixels and 72 resolution. I need to resize this to put on the side of a vehicle.
I have tried Image size and then increased to 1200 pixels then preserve details and put noise up to 100%. It is very pixelated.
All help gratefully received.
By the way...I am self taught in photoshop and have CC.
Thank you
Alex

If you need this logo to look good on the side of a vehicle, my guess is that it's going to be at least a couple of feet wide and high, so you will likely need it up-rez'ed to at least several thousand pixels in each dimension. This is about 10x the pixel dimensions of what you have. It isn't going to happen. That sort of enhancement only happens in science fiction movies, and on television crime shows like CSI, LOL.

You're essentially looking for a computer to accurately make up around 100 new pixels for every pixel in your original. You're not going to do this by any conventional up-rez'ing technique using PS.

Your best bet is to re-do the art work, from scratch, at the needed size, hopefully, in a vector program like Illustrator. Illustrator does have a tool that will try to convert a bit map (like you have) into a vector. While this tool is better than attempting to up-rez it in PS, it makes errors, so, it's best thought of as producing a decent starting point for re-doing the logo.

That being said, we could speak more definitively about your options if we could see what you are dealing with, so why don't you post it.

Cheers,

Tom M

Alex,