What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

graphic painting novice

Kaaaw

Hi,

I am new to graphic painting techniques in photoshop and I am hoping to get some help from those of you with more experience.

I am having trouble creating (personal) Hot Keys and this seems to be because of the lay out of the mac key boards.

Any help regarding this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Anna.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello Anna and welcome to PSG.

I use a mac and have not had any problems creating hot keys. If you could give us a bit more specific information as to what your trying to do, we may can be more helpful.

Be sure and check to see that the key is not already assigned a function. You may need to re-assign functions to get the key combo your desiring.

Kaaaw

The function I am attempting to program into a hot key is that of lassoing and then filling the lasso with a colour.

When I attempt to make this Hot Key this is the process I follow;

Windows- Actions - Preset's Window pops up - New function -name it, choose from a choice of F1 -F12, choose colour etc - press Record (make a lasso and then fill with colour) - press Stop Record.

When I attempt to use this hot key it doesn't work. I have tried different keys but nothing ever works. I have also attempted to change the choice of keys but when I do so, it only gives me a selection of preset functions that are already coded into photoshop, not the function of lassoing and filling.

Thanks so much for your help..this is driving me nuts... I can't work out what I'm doing wrong.

MrToM

Guru
Are you DE-selecting any modifier keys when you select one of the 'function' keys?