What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Long time photographer limited Photoshop experience

Sirduke

Hi, and thanks for having me.

My first experience with the Photo(editing)shop game was when A friend asked me to retouch his very endearing family photo. As a photographer I could not say no. But I had no experience in retouching so I contacted a Memphis great and legendary photographer Ernest Withers. He introduce me to what he called photo manipulation and editing. I'm not quite sure if it was Photoshop I believe it was prior to Photoshop's development. Long story short I have only use Photoshop sparingly because I believeD, foolishly, that photo manipulation was cheating. Oh but yes, I do understand that's only where competition is involved. Unless that competition permits Photoshop.

My friend was overwhelmed with the results, to say the least! We simply reproduced, created a color creative art photo from a black and white picture . I was hooked as well with the results we/HE created. So my friend gave me two more photos to edit. These were terrible Instamatic prints that needed total reconstruction. You can but barely see any white in the eyes. After years, I have use these as the motivation to learn the art of the edit, and I still have them. I never learned how to edit them. Yes, I can do simple things with Photoshop but photo reconstruction… ARTWORKS! With all of its features it was too overwhelming and my time didn't permit.