What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lens distortion corrections (Was: New photographer in town!)

Hanne

I am a Norwegian photography artist which have been using photoshop a lot for the past 9 years. I have quite good skills and have developed artistic expressions which haven´t been used much before, since it demands a lot from photoshop.

The reason I joined this Forum is because I always think there is more to learn and share.

Currently I am entering new territory with my photographs, since I will make a series of images converted to black and white.
I also wonder how to choose in lens corrections when the image is going to be cropped to a different format.
I hope to get some tips about the best ways! :)

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello Hanne and welcome to the forum. I'm certain that you will receive help on any questions you may have. Looking forward to seeing some of your projects. Enjoy.

Tom Mann

Guru
A big welcome from me, as well! Like you, I have a very strong interest in photography, having sold my first photo back in the 1960's.

Although this is not the correct forum to answer technical questions, the answer to your question about lens corrections seems to be very simple: Apply lens corrections right at the start of your workflow (eg, in ACR), not at the end, after cropping, and all should be well. OTOH, if you are talking about geometric corrections (eg, minimizing perspective distortions such as "keystoning"), while these should also be applied at the start of the work, if one forgets, you can apply them after cropping and they will work just as well. However, in this case you have to do it on a case-by-case basis.