Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Activity
    Points
    48
    Level
    2
    Lv. Percent
    46.67%

    Automate Camara raw

    Hello All!

    As you have noticed, i am quite new to the forum.


    I am a bit used to photoshop, but not the nicly automate tool embeded in Photoshop.

    The thing is that i hav 2 full cards of 16 gb, that needs some correction. Camara has been used by some friends, and some needs ajustment in camara raw. I quite like the automate option in camara raw to set the settings right (external daytime picture).

    So, i selet daytime, and automate. Whit quite good results for what i need.


    When i try to automate this. It records everthing, exect the settings i set in camara raw modes.
    That part i need to set manualy.

    Is there a way that i can also make a action and record the camara raw part with it? Othrwise i have a lot of work to do and it is quite time consuiming.

    thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Tom Mann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7,224
    Post Thanks / Likes
    Mentioned
    211 Post(s)
    Activity
    Points
    27,242
    Level
    45
    Lv. Percent
    10.15%
    Achievements SuperstarPost GuruQualified to FreelanceAdvocate
    Awards Photoshop GuruPhotographer

    Re: Automate Camara raw

    First, I assume you want to use the version of "Camera Raw" that is a pre-processor of raw files for PS, and not the version of it available from within PS as just another filter.

    If it's the former, my recommendation would be to temporarily make the default preset for ACR be whatever you need. Process all the raw images in ACR (or, equivalently, in LR) in one fell swoop, and then save the results as a bunch of PSD files. Then you can proceed on to automating the rest of the processing in PS using an action.

    I hope I understood your problem correctly.

    Tom M

    As your last step, don't forget to reset the default preset.
    Last edited by Tom Mann; 01-17-2017 at 08:38 AM.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Activity
    Points
    48
    Level
    2
    Lv. Percent
    46.67%

    Re: Automate Camara raw

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Mann View Post
    First, I assume you want to use the version of "Camera Raw" that is a pre-processor of raw files for PS, and not the version of it available from within PS as just another filter.

    If it's the former, my recommendation would be to temporarily make the default preset for ACR be whatever you need. Process all the raw images in ACR (or, equivalently, in LR) in one fell swoop, and then save the results as a bunch of PSD files. Then you can proceed on to automating the rest of the processing in PS using an action.

    I hope I understood your problem correctly.

    Tom M

    As your last step, don't forget to reset the default preset.
    Thank you for your reply.
    In the meantime i have foud the answer that i was looking for, and the issue.
    I had photoshop 2015, and i was not seeing everything, i supect wrongly intalled or got corupted somehow (as camara raw did no showed everthing).
    I could obtain cs6 from a friend, and resolved the issue.

    Using the followig sequence i am able to do what i need:

    Open all the pictures via brigde into camara raw.
    i then do:
    lens correction
    ajust the settings i need for one picture. Save it as preset on camara raw.
    Then select all the raws that are related (same light conditions, same lens ect) and apply the preset directly.
    And i just create new presets for each lens/light condition for one raw, and apply that present on the rest of the raws.


    Anyhow, now it does what i need.

    thank you and i hope that above workflow helps other users with same kind of situation.

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator Tom Mann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7,224
    Post Thanks / Likes
    Mentioned
    211 Post(s)
    Activity
    Points
    27,242
    Level
    45
    Lv. Percent
    10.15%
    Achievements SuperstarPost GuruQualified to FreelanceAdvocate
    Awards Photoshop GuruPhotographer

    Re: Automate Camara raw

    Yup, that's almost exactly what I would do if I only had PS / ACR available. The only difference between what you are doing and what I described is that (a) to simplify the explanation, I suggested temporarily changing the default preset (for each set of lighting conditions) instead of storing a bunch of separate presets (...I didn't know if you knew how to do this); and, (b) I included the extra step of finishing the processing in PS since I did not know if ACR could do everything you needed, if there were favorite PS actions that you like to use, etc. etc.

    In actuality, because preset management is so vastly better in Lightroom instead of PS, I would do the entire operation in LR, not Photoshop's ACR. I didn't mention this earlier because you seemed to be focused entirely on PS.

    Glad it worked.

    Tom M

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Activity
    Points
    48
    Level
    2
    Lv. Percent
    46.67%

    Re: Automate Camara raw

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Mann View Post
    Yup, that's almost exactly what I would do if I only had PS / ACR available. The only difference between what you are doing and what I described is that (a) to simplify the explanation, I suggested temporarily changing the default preset (for each set of lighting conditions) instead of storing a bunch of separate presets (...I didn't know if you knew how to do this); and, (b) I included the extra step of finishing the processing in PS since I did not know if ACR could do everything you needed, if there were favorite PS actions that you like to use, etc. etc.

    In actuality, because preset management is so vastly better in Lightroom instead of PS, I would do the entire operation in LR, not Photoshop's ACR. I didn't mention this earlier because you seemed to be focused entirely on PS.

    Glad it worked.

    Tom M

    i agree.
    This is however the first time i use photoshop in this way, using actions and presets, so, it was a bit buzzing and confusing finding the correct options and the howtos ect ect.
    Anyhow, did not know that Lightroom's presets are more powerful than the one on PS. I will check this when i am at home, so that i will only lose 30 min instead of a couple of hours as i did in the past lol (i normaly do not ajust the pictures, just use the camara settings to get quality photos).

    And indeed, in the opening of this post, i was not even aware of above mentioned workflow, so, that why i was so focused on PS camera raw option...

    Anyhow, i have now a process that is doing all the work for me. Maybe not the best one, but it works.

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator Tom Mann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7,224
    Post Thanks / Likes
    Mentioned
    211 Post(s)
    Activity
    Points
    27,242
    Level
    45
    Lv. Percent
    10.15%
    Achievements SuperstarPost GuruQualified to FreelanceAdvocate
    Awards Photoshop GuruPhotographer

    Re: Automate Camara raw

    Quote Originally Posted by francc View Post
    ...Anyhow, I (sic) did not know that Lightroom's presets are more powerful than the one on PS. ...
    I did not say that the presets in LR were any more powerful than the ones in PS. In fact, the behind-the-scenes math is virtually identical in ACR and LR.

    What I said was, "...preset management is so vastly better in Lightroom instead of PS, I would do the entire operation in LR..". What this means is that LR gives you a much better way to organize the presets, copy parts of the settings from one preset into the settings already in place for an image, and either make a new preset or directly apply the merged result, etc. etc.

    HTH,

    Tom M

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Photoshop Gurus
Photoshop Gurus (PSG) is a friendly community of designers and artists who enjoy all things related to Photoshop. PSG can consider itself one of the oldest Photoshop sites and has recently had it's 10th anniversary. We've come a long way and have every intention to continue supporting the Photoshop community. Photoshop can be an overwhelming program for beginners and that's how we try to help. We have a friendly forum, tutorials and all resources to help you understand this wonderful program. Feel free to look around and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. Happy browsing!