What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best image resizing plugins? Pros and cons.

doubleubee

Image resizing is an important part of image processing work. There is a huge array of different methods with different benefits and sometimes abhorrent artifacts. I'm new to Photoshop but I'm impressed with the wide array of enlargement plugins available. A few enlargement plugins have been mentioned in these lists but I suspect that there's not a single solution that works best for every image.

I'd love to hear about your favorite resize option (preferably with the method it uses); how it works best for you and when the results leave something to be desired. I'm really after the best image quality rather than the cheapest or easiest to use.

This is my draft list from a little searching:

• Photoshop built-in
  • Alien Skin Blow up (Vector based)
  • ON1 Resize (Fractal based)
  • PhotoZoom Pro (S-Spline based)

Thanks for your help in navigating this.

doubleubee

I'll try kicking this off myself.

• Photoshop built-in (Image Size - Preserve Details) appears to be doing a bicubic resize followed by a smart sharpen
I haven't tested this comprehensively but it doesn't appear to preserve edge detail from the image.

• PhotoZoom Pro can 'hallucinate' detail
Looking at the examples, something strange happens to the hair in the corner of the face example and the depth of field in the shell example creates an unexpected pattern on the rock it's sitting on.

I notice that PhotoZoom Pro has a whole host of options so it may be possible to compensate for this.

Tom Mann

Guru