What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3D I'm having problems merging 3D layers

Hi, I'm new to Photoshop Gurus.com and I was hoping somebody could help me. I've had a look through other threads and haven't found my answer.

I am using Photoshop CS6 and I am trying to merge multiple 3D layers.
This is what I have so far:
e-l-tru_pre_merge.jpg
All of the 3D letters/characters are on separate layers. My plan is to merge all the 3D layers into one layer so that I can adjust the light on all the 3D objects at once. My problem is that when I merge the layers I get something like this:

e-l-tru_post_merge.jpg

I realise I could adjust the light source on each layer to be in roughly the same position as each other but I would like to be able to adjust just one light source on all my objects at once.

I have searched other sites. Some suggested merging only two 3D layers together at a time. I tried that with similar results. A couple of results I got were just bizarre. I also read that holding down shift while selecting "merge 3D layers" from the menu would keep my 3D objects looking how they do before I merge them. I tried that a few times making sure I was holding down shift long enough etc.

Some extra info that might help.
The scenes I think they're called are all different on all the layers. Like the ground plane on each layer is different.

Is there a way around this?

This is my first time posting on here so if the images in this post stay small I have the links to the two images I'm talking about here:

[I was not allowed to post links to my images here until I have made 5 other posts but can provide them if necessary.]