What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3D Floating Spheres

Reflections are always tricky.
On 3D objects like in my composite I found it almost impossible to get them right. It's done with Photoshop 3D tools.
Loading the texture of the BG to the sphere is not a problem, but to adjust the UV features, there is a lot of guesswork involved.
But maybe the PS 3D functions are limited, though how do I know if I can do better? I'm just a newbie with 3D.

Any comments or suggestions from 3D gurus are very welcome.

Floating Spheres 1700.jpg

Helios

I'm not a 3D guru, but if I might make a couple of spatial observations:
The realism might be improved by reflecting the spheres in each other, as they would in real life. I realise this probably makes everything a million times more complicated though!

The furthest sphere on the right wouldn't be reflecting the pictures in that way at that angle - it's a bit difficult to describe how it should be changed though. I can mock up a sketch later if that might help?

Nice job so far other than that. :)

Edit: Or just do what MrT says below. Yeah, that. :p

Last edited:

MrToM

Guru
Ah.....you seem to have fallen into the 3D trap!

What you've done is fine, nothing wrong with it....as a 'Scene' its great....but...

...you've misunderstood what 3D is all about, and that's perfectly acceptable.....anyone starting out in 3D work does it so at least you're on the right track.

What you've done here is to 'think' that YOU need to apply the 'reflections' to the objects in the 'Scene'.

This is the trap......you don't need to at all!

The whole idea behind 3D, (although on a limited basis with PS), is this...