What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JPG to HTML works only on my computer

Milda Janu

Hello,

I'm kinda new in web designing, and I have a question.

When I have a .jpg file and I convert it to .html (selecting images using slice tool, all that jazz), than I press Save for web, choose Html and images, and afterwards, when I open that .html file, it only shows on my browser, but when I send it to someone, they only see a broken page with no images... What I'm doing wrong?

Thanks for help!

MrToM

Guru
Are you sending the folder full of images too?

The path to the images in the web page will relate to the images in the folder.....no folder, no images.
The paths are also most likely relative, so the folder will have reside in the same place relative to the html file....for anyone you send it to.

Regards.
MrTom.

Milda Janu

Then next question, so how do I make my .jpg (converted to html) image appear in other people browsers, if they don't have all that set of photos from my file? Or photoshop does not do such things and it's only done by programming? :D

MrToM

Guru
Well lets start with the basics.

You don't convert 'images' to html.
The html page you have generated contains 'links' to the images.
Each 'image' link has a source property (src) which is the path to the respective image.

In other words, when the html page is opened in a browser the 'page' looks for the images denoted by the path in the 'src' property.

You need to have both the html page AND the images for it to display as intended.

If you have used PS to generate this 'html' file it will also have generated a folder with the images in it.