What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

combining two photos for a chemical engineering project

sima

I am a chemical engineer and I am not a photoshop expert. I need to overlay two photos in a way that I can see both photos at the same time in one photo. I have attached the photos. one is (#1) my particles which are very tiny white spots on a gray background and the other one (#2) is a black background with columns of small circles. I want to merge these photos in a way that at the end I'll have a black background with those circles and white spots. all together at one photo and at correct places. the important thing is that I want the circles be as sharp as they are in the original photo, so I cannot change the opacity.

Do think it is possible at all? can u suggest me an easy way for that?

Thanks so much

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    282.7 KB · Views: 9
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    85.7 KB · Views: 11

Stric9

Power User
Yes it is possible. The bottom photo the dots are not white they are just not black. Invert this image to get "whiter" dots. After you have layered this on top of the first image then you can use blend if in the blending options dialog box to get something like this. Slide the white slider to the left. Split the handles by using the alt key when you click and drag to get more control.
science project copy.jpg

sima