What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PSD's and Layers

WidmarkRob

I've just started my web development freelance career… I've downloaded a PSD Web Template, I want to practice converting those templates into working websites.

Before I start that, I have one question (for now :)).

I noticed when I opened the PSD, I opened up the layers palette… Because I'm new to this, it surprised me to see a few layer groups & independent layers.:pimp:

Before I start experimenting;
I know how to hide multiple layers & independent layers. I also know it would take a long time to go through and individually hide all of the layers I don't want. I'm fine with that though. This is my first practice project, so… I don't mind doing things a long/hard way. As long as I'm learning I don't mind.
With that said, I have already painstakingly hidden all layers… Except for one (I know, I know… I'm crazy).

With that one layer showing. Can I create a new document out of that layer?
I know I probably could have just used the clipper tool, but… I don't like how I'm constrained to boxes and rectangles. I don't need all of that extra information that the clipper tool forces you to take.

Side note: after making a clipping… Would I be able to use the freeform selection tool in conjunction with the clipper tool?

Anyway, back to my main question.
Can I create a new document out of a single layer?

dv8_fx

Retired Administrator
Yes , you can....

with the layer selected, hit CTRL+A to select all the contents on the layer.

Then CTRL+C to copy the contents.

Create new documnet... CTRL+N

CTRL+V to paste clipboard contents on new document. ....

Increase or decrease document size if needed...

WidmarkRob