What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Questions on where to begin

Muhan

Hi all, I am new to both photoshop and these forums but recently gotten hooked on digital art. After some searching on google I've come across some nice tutorials and sites (including this one) and I've diligently bookmarked and begun to go through the content.

Forgive me if these questions have been answered before, a quick look through the search function didn't really reveal much of what I wanted to know. I'll try to also be as detailed as I can so I can get the answer I want so thank you for your patience!.

Here's the question: the amount of material and techniques etc. I've found online for PS is overwhelming me and I was wondering where to begin - with the theory or the practical stuff? What I mean by this is, theory might be: depth, lines, colouring etc. and how this affects your picture versus just blindly following tutorials for photoshop without knowing where and why these techniques might be applied. Essentially I want to be able to visualize the end-product before tackling something with PS since techniques/methods are just a means to an end (the way I see it), so I think theory would be quite helpful here, but I was curious about what experienced people have to say about it.

This is the first time in my life I have shown an interest in art and quite frankly I can't even judge if something is any good or not - everything above a certain standard looks pretty good to me.

Goal-wise, I would like to develop a solid foundation of basics and sort of be a jack-of-all-trades and eventually take those skills to web design.

Thanks in advance!
- Muhan